Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Guide to Primary Source Research: Finding Articles

Article Databases

Andersen Library has many indexes and databases. The following are useful for finding source materials in history. Not all of the material in these databases is primary. Evaluate carefully before using.

For additional history databases, see the Guide to Secondary Source Research guide.

Gale Primary Sources
A tool that searches across many of Gale's databases containing British and American historical newspapers and other periodicals.

It searches: British Library Newspapers, Part I: 1800-1913, the Eighteenth Century Collection Online, the Nineteenth Century Collection Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, the Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection, and the Times (London) Digital Archive.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from 1849 to 24 years ago.
Some content withheld due to copyright.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and individual article images with searchable full text from 1851-5 years ago
Some content withheld due to copyright
Gerritsen Collection
Large primary source collection for the study of women's history, with over 4,000 books, pamphlets, and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online I-IV
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, mostly focused on Europe and Asia.
Collections include Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection Archives.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online I & II (Gale)
Digital images of over 180,000 titles including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
These collections can also be searched using Gale Primary Sources.
Early English Books Online
Digital page images of virtually every work printed from 1473-1700 in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere.
Access provided by UW Madison.
America's Historical Newspapers
Primary source newspapers published from 1728 to the late 1990s. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states.

Access provided by UW Madison.
African American Periodicals
Search 170+ periodicals written by and about African Americans. Published from 1825-1995, the publications include academic and political journals, magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
African American Newspapers
Search 270 historical newspapers published for African American communities between 1827-1998.
Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
Accessible Archives
Primary source material from 18th & 19th century magazines and books, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
Collections provided by Andersen Library: African-American Newspapers (Parts 1-13); VA Gazette (Parts 1-5); Civil War Collection (Parts 1-6); Godey's Lady's Book (Parts 1-9); Frank Leslie's Weekly (Parts 1-14); Women's Suffrage Collection (Parts 1-3).
NewspaperARCHIVE
Full page and individual articles from historic newspapers from Wisconsin.