This is the "Home/Help" page of the "Children's & Young Adult Literature: Selection and Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Apr 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/child-lit Print Guide RSS Updates

Home/Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is This?

This guide will assist Andersen Library patrons to identify print and online resources for locating, evaluating and selecting books for children and young adults. Featured resources are available in Andersen Library databases, in the Curriculum Collection as well as other areas of the collection, and also online.

 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262-472-1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
24/7 Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours (Summer 2015)

Monday-Tuesday:
9am-9pm
Wednesday-Thursday:
9am-5pm*
    *5pm-9pm UWW does online chat
Friday:
9am-4:30pm
Saturday-Sunday:
closed

*UW-Whitewater chats online Wednesday-Thursday 5pm-9pm.

Check here for schedule exceptions.

 

Scan Me!

For quick, future access to this LibGuide, scan this code with your smartphone:

QR code

Not sure what this is? Unable to scan? Visit QR Code FAQ

 

Introduction

Andersen Library's Main and Reference Collections are shelved using the Library of Congress classification system. Materials related to children's literature can be found in the Reference Collection on the second floor. Items related to this topic are primarily located in the areas of both collections designated by the prefixes Z1037, PN1008, and PN1009.

Andersen Library also maintains circulating collections of fiction and non-fiction materials for children and young adults, arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System. These collections are housed in the Curriculum Collection on the library's second floor, and consist primarily of award-winning books, such as those receiving Caldecott and Newbery Medals.

For information about the Curriculum Collection and materials available there, visit the Locating Teaching Materials in the Library guide.

Alice and cards

A great deal of information is available to Andersen Library patrons.

Illustration: John Tenniel

 

Taking Online Courses?

If you're taking classes online and not coming to campus regularly, that doesn't mean that you can't use the library! In addition to the online resources, we do provide additional services for distance education (DE) students.

Willie Warhawk takes an online course

          • Request that items owned by UW-W Andersen Library be sent to your home at no charge. How?
            • Use ILL to make these requests,
            • Indicate in the Notes field of your request that you are a distance education student. 
            • You are responsible for returning the item to UW-W at your cost.
          • Use your UW-W HawkCark to borrow items from other UW libraries.
          • Visit this page for more information.

Also, if you encounter problems accessing library resources, such as access to library databases, full-text of articles, or the e-reserves, please take a look at our Troubleshooting guide for insight into known issues.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip