For more information on finding Government Documents in Andersen Library, see the Finding Primary Sources for Historical Research guide.
Database
- LexisNexis Congressional
Includes legislative histories for public laws and testimony from congressional hearings. Track bills and search the Congressional Record and Federal Register. Also includes the U.S. Serial Digital Collection, 1789-1969: House and Senate documents and reports, Senate executive reports, and Senate treaty documents.
Books
In addition to the titles listed below, more government documents (published by the federal or state government), and books on government topics, can be found by using the Library's online catalog.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (U.S. State Department, Office of the Historian) - "Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." Series began in 1861 and currently covers to 1976. Contains documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy. Search the entire set, or browse by title or administration.The series is also available full text through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections database; however, this database contains volumes from 1861-1960 only, and is also missing some volumes from those years.
- Documents on American Foreign Relations
Main Collection, 3rd floor
JX231 .D6
Library has 1938-1970
- continued by American Foreign Relations
Main Collection, 3rd floor
JX231 .D6
Library has 1971-1978
Periodicals
- The Department of State Bulletin (published by the U.S. State Department) - "The official monthly record of United States foreign policy."
Periodicals Bound Stacks, 1st Floor
Library has v.31 (1954:July)-v.89 (1989)
Indexed in the Library's Reader's Guide Retrospective database until November 1982.
- Continued by U.S. Department of State Dispatch - "provides the major speeches and congressional testimony from the State Department"
Periodicals Bound Stacks, 1st Floor
Library has v.1 (1990)-v.10 (1999)
Also available online on the Department of State archives web site, 1990-1999
- American Foreign Policy
Federal (US) Documents Stacks, 2nd Floor
S 1.71/2:
Library has 1950-1955: v.1-2; 1956-1958; 1960-1967; 1981-1990
Web Collections
- The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Lillian Goldman Law Library, Yale Law School)
Includes digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government. Examples of the document collections included are American Diplomacy: Bilateral Treaties 1778 - 1999, Cold War Diplomacy - Defense Treaties of the United States, and Native Americans: Treaties with the United States
