This is the "Citation Styles" page of the "Citing & Annotating Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing & Annotating Resources   Tags: citations  

The gateway to the Library's citation guides, as well as additional resources for formatting citations and writing annotated bibliographies.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2016 URL: http://libguides.uww.edu/citing-resources Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation Styles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is this?

This guide serves as your resource for finding information about how to properly cite research utilizing the various citation styles.

 

APA Style

The American Psychological Association (APA) Style is used predominantly by fields in the social sciences. The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association governs formatting for the entire work, and the most current edition, the sixth, is available at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the Manual contains many more.

Citing References: APA Style (DOC) & APA Style (PDF)

 

MLA Style

The Modern Languages Association (MLA) Style is used predominantly in the humanities. The MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers provide guidance on the formatting of the entire paper. The most current editions of the two titles are kept at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the two books contains many more.

Citing References: MLA Style (DOC) & MLA Style (PDF)

 

Turabian Style

Turabian Style is used predominantly in history. A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations dictates the formatting of the entire paper. The most current edition is kept at the Reference Desk. While the Library's handout covers many citation examples of frequently-used source materials, the Manual contains many more.

Citing References: Turabian Style (DOC) & Turabian Style (PDF)

 

Other Styles

APA, MLA and Turabian are not the only citation styles out there. Below are several others with handy guides for formatting citations.

 

Additional Resources

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University provides a wealth of information regarding the writing process, including properly incorporating the research of others into one's own work. The site also features a complete listing of resources for documenting sources in various disciplines beyond what we have through our website.

 

EndNote Basic

EndNote Basic

Login to your EndNote Basic account.

 

Zotero

Zotero

Login to your zotero.org account.

 

Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262-472-1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
24/7 Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours* (Summer 2016)

Monday-Tuesday:
9am-9pm

Wednesday-Thursday:
9am-5pm*

Friday:
9am-4:30pm

Saturday:
Closed

Sunday:
noon-8pm

*UW-W librarians chat online summer Wednesdays 5pm-9pm, but not during interim

*Online chat is always available

Check here for schedule exceptions.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip