Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Political Science 418: Legal Research & Writing: Secondary Sources

Dictionaries

Recommended Legal Dictionary

Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: Reference Collection, 2nd-floor, KF156 .B53 2019 (1-day c heckout); Online: Westlaw Campus Research
ISBN: 9781539229759
Publication Date: 2019, 11th ed.

Westlaw Campus Research
- This link opens in a new window
Click Secondary Sources from the Browse menu, then Black's appears at the right.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Other, Online Legal Dictionaries

Legal Abbreviation Dictionaries

Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
Call Number: Reference Collection, 2nd-floor, KF246 .B46 2017 (1-day checkout)
ISBN: 0837740398
Publication Date: 2017, 7th ed.

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

Legal Definitions in Court Cases

Words and Phrases cites court opinions, federal and state, that define legal terms (Online: Westlaw Campus Research)

Westlaw Campus Research
- This link opens in a new window
Click Cases on the Browse menu. Words and Phrases will appear at the right.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Encyclopedias

National Legal Research Encyclopedias for legal scholars, students, and practitioners

Note: Andersen Library does not have any state legal encyclopedias, in print or online.

American Jurisprudence 2d (Online: Westlaw Campus Research)
Corpus Juris Secundum (Print: Andersen Library Law Collection, 2nd floor, KF65 .M3; Online: Westlaw Campus Research

Westlaw Campus Research
- This link opens in a new window
Click "Secondary Sources" on the Browse menu, then both legal research encyclopedias will appear at the left.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Other Law Encyclopedias

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, KF154 .W47 2005 (1-day checkout); Online: Gale i n Context: U.S. History
ISBN: 0787663670
Publication Date: 2005, 2nd ed.
Online via Gale i n Context: U.S. History: Use search box at right with "all volumes" selected
The Philosophy of Law
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, K204 .P49 1999 v.1-2 (1-day checkout); Online: ProQuest Ebook Central
ISBN: 0815313446
Publication Date: 1999

Legal Research Guides

Legal Research Books in Andersen Library

Legal Research in a Nutshell
Call Number: Main Collection, 3rd Floor, KF240 .C54 2016
ISBN: 9781634604628
Publication Date: 2016, 12th ed.
Legal Research in Wisconsin
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, KFW2475 .L44 2008 (1-day checkout)
ISBN: 0837716861
Publication Date: 2008, 2nd ed.

Research@UWW - Books, Media, & More (UW Whitewater)
Search "legal research" for additional titles in UW-Whitewater's libraries.

Online Legal Research Guides

There are many academic libraries and law school libraries providing legal research guides online. I recommend:

Search Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Use this search box to find UW-Whitewater libraries' books, ebooks, government publications, videos, and more.

American Law Reports (ALR)

ALR series provide detailed legal articles called annotations that cite primary and secondary legal authority on selected legal issues, typically new or changing areas of law at the time the annotations are written. Be aware of the date of an annotation and look for newer sources to supplement citations in the annotations. Sometimes the annotations are updated. (Online: Westlaw Campus Research)

Westlaw Campus Research
- This link opens in a new window
Click Secondary Sources on the Browse menu, and then American Law Reports appears at the left.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Restatements of the Law (American Law Institute)

Restatements are intended to restate settled areas of law in certain broad areas, e.g., torts, property, and contracts. Although Andersen Library has some of these sets in the 3rd-floor Main Collection, they are not updated.

Political Science 418: Legal Research & Writing: Secondary Sources

Secondary sources include dictonaries, legal encyclopedias, ALRs, Restatements, articles, boooks and treatises