Skip to main content
site header image

Locating Teaching Resources in the Library: Children's & YA Books

This guide describes the teaching resources available in Andersen Library and the K-12 Curriculum Collection. as well as how to locate them. In addition, it provides direction to locating online information such as article databases and useful websites.

Children's Fiction & Non-fiction

A small, representative collection of children's and young adult fiction and non-fiction is shelved in the Curriculum Collection, located on the east end of the second floor.  The primary purpose of the Curriculum Collection is to support coursework and research dealing with children's and young adult literature.  Several university departments make use of this collection and it contains a variety of representative materials to support their curricula. In addition, faculty, staff, and community members are invited to use the Curriculum Collection with children under their supervieasy bookssion.

Non-fiction arranged by the Dewey Decimal System to reflect the call numbers most often used in school and public libraries.  Easy books are picture books aimed at children from birth to grade 4. Juvenile Fiction and Non-Fiction are for grades 5 and up. The Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy book collections circulate for regular loan periods.

Books for the Juvenile Fiction, Non-Fiction and Easy Book collections are selected based on recommendations from faculty  and from award winning book lists. The award lists consulted include the following:

    * Boston-Globe/Hornbook Award and Honors
    * New York Times Best Illustrated
    * School Library Journal Best Books
    * Caldecott Medal and Honors
    * Newbery Medal and Honors
    * American Library Association Notables
    * Mildred Batchelder Award
    * Coretta Scott King Honors and Award
    * Canadian Library Association
    * Kate Greenaway Medal
    * Carnegie Medal
    * Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People
    * Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12
    * International Reading Association.  Children's Book Awards
    * International Reading Association.  Lee Bennett Hopkins Promising Poet Award