Skip to main content
site header image

How to Find Citation Formatters: Databases that Generate Citations

Major Databases and that Generate Citations

  • EbscoHost Databases 
    After running a search, click on the entry you want. To the right you will see an icon that looks like a sheet of paper with the word "cite" on it. Click to get citations in a number of styles.
  • Encyclopædia Britannica 
    After running a search, click on the entry you want. Below the entry, you will see citations in APA and MLA styles.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II, III & IV Collection
    After running a search, click on the title of the article you want. On the right side click on Cite this Item. You will see a citation in APA,  MLA, and Chicago styles.
  • Oxford Reference Online 
    After running a search, click on the word you want. Below the definition, you will see a citation in MLAstyle.
  • ProQuest Databases 
    After running a search in any ProQuest database, mark the citations for the articles you are using. Click on the My Research tab, and then on Create your Bibliography. Choose a style, then print, email or download.
  • Web of Science  - Requires registration
    After running a search, mark the citations for the articles you are using. Click on Save to My EndNote Web. Log in. When the records have been processed, click on Done. The steps from this point will vary.
  • Wikipedia (Free)
    When in an article, click on Cite This Page in the left-hand toolbox.

Note

Some Andersen Library databases, such as those from EbscoHost and ProQuest, and free online resources, such as Wikipedia, offer suggested citations in a variety of styles. As always, use them with caution, as they are usually computer generated and frequently contain errors.

Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: (262) 472-1032
Email: Ask a Librarian
24/7 Chat: Ask a Librarian

 

Reference Desk Hours* (Fall 2018)

Monday-Wednesday: 9 am-11 pm

Thursday: 9 am-9 pm

Friday: 9 am-5:00 pm

Saturday: 1 pm-5:00 pm

Sunday: 1 pm-5 pm & 6 pm-11 pm

 

Reference Desk Exceptions

Wednesday, December 19: 9 am-9 pm

 

*UW-W Librarians normally chat online Wednesdays 6 pm-9 pm

*online chat is always available

Check current schedule and exceptions here.