Skip to main content
site header image

Link Directly to Online Articles, Ebooks, & More: Database Specific Tips

Can't Find Your Database?

The Andersen Library subscribes to about 260 databases, however, do to space constraints tips for all of them are not listed here. If you are trying to link to an article in a database not listed on this page, please contact the Reference & Instruction librarians using the contact information listed below for additional assistance. We'll gladly help you out.

Because the databases on this list are grouped together by system, such as EBSCOhost or ProQuest, and by type of instructions you may want to use the Find feature of your browser (CTRL + F for PCs or COMMAND + F for Macs) to locate your database or database system.

The instructions refer to D2L. The first few lines of each set of directions are identical to instructions for putting links on websites or in Canvas, however:

  • URLs do not need to be shortened for use in Canvas
  • URLs do not need to be coded with HTML in Canvas, as the system will automatically make the links active 

Music & Video Databases

Alexander Street

  1. Do a search for the title or subject of what you want in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the title of the clip you want.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select <\> Embed/Link below the clip.
  5. Select Copy for either the permalink or the code.
  6. The EZProxy® coding is already included.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

DRAM

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Click on the title link and the album entry will appear.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Click on Permalink.
  5. Copy the URL for the page from the address/location box of your Web browser.
  6. Add EZProxy® coding.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Films on Demand

  1. Search the database by title or subject.
  2. Select the title of the video you want.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select <\> Embed/Link at the bottom of the brief entry or below the video in the record.
  5. Copy the Record URL or Segment URL provided.
  6. The EZProxy® coding is already included.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Naxos

  1. Do a search for the title or artist of what you want in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Click on Track Details [+]
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select the Show Static URL button on the left side.
  5. Copy the static URL for the clip you want.
  6. Add EZProxy® coding.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Article & Book Databases

ACLS Humanities E-Book & CQ Press Library

These contents of these databases, with the exception of CQ Weekly, cannot be found by doing a Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database in quotation marks, omitting any initial article.
  2. Click on the title link.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Copy the link provided towards the bottom of the record of that page.
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

American Chemical Society Journals (ACS), BioOne, BizJournals, Chronicle of Higher Education, Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), Encyclopedia Britannica, IEEE Xplore, Institute of Physics Electronic Journals (IOPScience), Nature, Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford Reference Online, Project Muse, Sage Journals, Science, & Wiley Online Library 

Follow a link to one of these databases or periodicals from the Journal Search.

  1. Do a search for the title of the article in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  3. If there is a link to PDF full text that opens in your browser, click to open it, or if not, use what full text or article record is available.
  4. Copy the URL/link for the page from the address/location box at the top of your browser window. 
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Copy Persistent Link

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database 

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database in quotation marks, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the item's title.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select"Copy Persistent Link!"
  5. Press [CTRL]+[C] to copy the Persistent Link.
  6. Select the "Close" button.
  7. Add EZProxy® coding.
  8. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  9. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  10. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Article & Book Databases

Early English Books Online (EEBO) (Chadwyck-Healey)

This database is not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the "Record" icon to the left of the author name or on the segment title.
  3. Select the appropriate "View document image [n]" link.
  4. Select the "Durable URL" button.
  5. Copy the URL/link for the page from the pop-up window.
  6. Select the "OK" button.
  7. Add EZProxy® coding.
  8. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  9. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  10. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  11. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.

Permalink

EBSCOhost databases

Sometimes following the link to an EbscoHost database from the Journal Search results in a listing of articles from the desired periodical; other times it results in a list of databases.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • From a list of articles: Leave what appears in the text box, then type "AND" followed by a phrase from the article title in quotation marks and click on the "Search" button.
    • From a list of databases: Select the database named from the record resulting from your search. Click on "Advanced Search" and type a phrase from the article title in quotation marks in a text box at the top of the display. Type the journal title in the "Publication" box towards the bottom. Click on the "Search" button.
  2. If there is a list of results, select the correct article's title to view its item record.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select "Permalink" on the right side.
  5. Copy the provided URL/link.
  6. The EZProxy® coding is already included.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Europa World Plus, Minds@UW, & SAGE Knowledge: Reference

These databases are not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the title, if needed.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Copy the URL/link from towards the bottom of the entry. (For SAGE Knowledge, use the DOI instead.)
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Article & Book Databases

JSTOR

Follow a link to one of journals in this collection from the Journal Search.

  1. Type the article's title, omitting any initial article, into the text box, and click on the search button.
  2. Select the article's title.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Copy the "Stable URL."
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Gale (Literary Sources, Literature Criticism Online, Directory Library, Primary Sources, Virtual Reference Library

These databases are not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Search by keyword, title of item, etc. in the search box provided.
  2. Click on the entry title.
  3. From below the displayed information, copy the "Source Citation," including the URL, and paste into D2L. Alternatively, click on the "Source Citation" icon to retrieve this information.
  4. Add EZProxy® coding to the URL/link.
  5. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  6. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  7. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Stable URL

Gale (Associations Unlimited, Contemporary Authors) & Westlaw

Unfortunately, these databases do not support direct links at this time.

The Gilded Age (Alexander Street)

This database is not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Click on the item's title.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Copy the URL/link for this page (it's in the address bar at the top of your browser window).
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Article & Book Databases

Music Online (Alexander Street)

This database is not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title or subject of what you want in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the title of the clip you want.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Select <\> Embed/Link.
  5. Select Copy for either the permalink or the code.
  6. The EZProxy® coding is already included.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or another similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Nexis Uni

This database is sometimes linked from the Journal Search. If not, such as for legal documents, access it via a list of databases.

  1. If necessary, do a search in the database.
  2. Click on an item's title.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L using the "Copy Citation" button at the top.
  4. From the "Actions" menu select "Link to This Page."
  5. Copy the URL/link.
  6. Select the "Close" button.
  7. Add EZProxy® coding.
  8. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  9. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  10. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Copy Document LInk Copy Document Link

Oxford Music Online

This database is not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the title link, if needed.
  3. Select the "Cite" icon.
  4. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  5. Copy the URL/link from a citation.
  6. Click on [X] in the popup window's upper right corner.
  7. Add EZProxy® coding to the URL/link.
  8. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  9. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  10. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

ProQuest databases

Follow a link to one of journals from the Journal Search.

  1. In the "Search Within this Publication" text box, type the article title, less any initial articles, in quotation marks.
  2. Select the "Search" button.
  3. Select the item's title.
  4. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  5. Select the "Abstract/Details" tab.
  6. At the bottom of the item's record, copy the "Document URL."
  7. The EZProxy® coding is already attached.
  8. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  9. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  10. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Article & Book Databases

ScienceDirect

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Select the title link, if needed.
  3. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  4. Copy the DOI from below the citation.
  5. Add EZProxy® coding.
  6. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  7. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  8. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

This database is not linked from the Journal Search. Access via a list of databases.

  1. Do a search for the title of the entry in the database, omitting any initial article.
  2. Click on the link to the full text.
  3. Select "Author and Citation Info" on the left side.
  4. Copy and paste the citation information into D2L.
  5. Copy the URL/link for this page from the citation.
  6. Add EZProxy® coding.
  7. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  8. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
  9. Format with HTML coding if not using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections (UWDC)

This database is not linked from the Journal Search, however, items and finding aids can be accessed through Research@UWW. Many items and finding aids do not have permanent links available. Instead use the "Local Identifier" code given with each item, which can then be searched for to find the item.

  1. Type a "Local Identifier," title, or some keywords into the text box, and press the "Enter" key on your keyboard.
  2. Select the article's title to view its record.
  3. Copy and paste the citation and/or descriptive information into D2L.
  4. If you want to link to a:
    • facsimile of a printed book or magazine, you will see a permanent URL/link in the URL field.
      • Copy the URL/link. 
      • Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
      • Paste shortened URL/link into D2L by going to the "Content" section and using the "Insert a Quick Link" feature.
    • digitized photo or audio clip, you will not see a permanent URL/link.
      • Copy the URL/link for the UWDC (https://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/).
      • Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
      • Paste shortened URL/link into D2L.
      • Copy the "Local Identifier" code from the bottom of the record and paste it into D2L.
      • Add instructions directing your students to search for the "Local Identifier" in the UWDC.

If you prefer to link to a particular Collection do the following.

  1. Start on to the Digital Collections page of the UWDC (https://uwdc.library.wisc.edu/collections/).
  2. Select a Collection name.
  3. Once on a Collection page, copy the URL/link from your browser's address/location box.
  4. Shorten at http://goo.gl or a similar site.
  5. Paste shortened URL/link into D2L.
  6. Note: It is possible to link to some sub-collections as well by following similar procedures.

Video Tutorial

To see a video on locating stable, direct, or permanent links in EbscoHost and ProQuest, please go to this Finding Permalinks in Library Databases tutorial.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians chat Wednesdays 6-9 during fall semester