Skip to main content
site header image

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Thesauri: Encyclopedias

Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: (262) 472-1032
Email: Ask a Librarian
24/7 Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours* (Fall 2017)

Monday-Thursday: 9 am-11 pm

Friday: 9 am-5 pm

Saturday: 1 pm-5 pm

Sunday: 1 pm-5 pm & 6 pm-11 pm

*UW-W Librarians normally chat online Wednesdays 6-9 pm

*online chat is always available

Check schedule exceptions here.

General

  • Encyclopedia.com - (HighBeam Research) - over 100 dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • Encyclopedia Britannica Online: Academic 
    Includes Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Tenth Edition), the Britannica Book of the Year and thousands of links to other Web sites selected by Britannica editors
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
  • InfoPlease - Includes the Columbia Encyclopedia 6th ed., a dictionary, almanacs and more.
  • Oxford Reference Online: Premium
    Contains about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books, giving wide access to a comprehensive information resource.
  • Reference Universe  
    Reference Universe searches the complete indexes of reference titles. Use Reference Universe to find articles to begin your research and build a bibliography.

Special

  • Associations Unlimited
  • Oxford Music Online Includes The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music.
  • Symbols.com - (HME Media, Stockholm Sweden) - Online version of Carl G. Liungman's book Thought Signs: The Semiotics of Symbols---Western Non-pictorial Ideograms, this online encyclopedia covers Western signs and ideograms

Use Reference Universe to find Reference Books

Reference Universe is different from most Andersen Library databases in that it looks for entries in reference books, such as encyclopedias, owned by the Library. Reference Universe works when searched using simple methods, such as searching for a few words or a phrase.

Sample searches:

wright richard

new mexico

After running a search, click on "X Index Entries" or "X Article Titles" to get the volume and page numbers of the entry and then either click on "Locate thie Book" to get the location and call number for a print book in the Andersen Library or the ebook button next to the entry for an online book.

Enter your search terms: