Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Guide to Historical Newspaper Research: Online Newspapers

International Newspaper Databases

British Library Newspapers (Gale)
British historical newspapers published from 1800-1913. Includes modern specially-commissioned essays and contextual materials to help non-specialist users with perspective & analysis.
It can also be searched using the Gale Primary Sources and Newsvault databases.
Access provided by UW Madison.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
(Library of Congress)
This site allows you to search newspapers from 1836-1922 from 35 states and Washington D.C.

Early Canadiana Online
More than 3,000 books, pamphlets, and other sources documenting Canadian history from the first European contact to the late 19th century.
The collection is particularly strong in literature, women's history, native studies, travel and exploration, and the history of French Canada.

Japanese-American Internment Camp Newspapers, 1942 to 1946
Produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the country during World War II, these newspapers provide a unique look into the daily lives of the people who were held in these camps. They include articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn. They advertise community events, provide logistical information about the camps and relocation, report on news from the community, and include editorials.

Newspaper Source Plus
Selected full text for over 1,520 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and television and radio news transcripts.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online I-IV
Primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, mostly focused on Europe and Asia.
Collections include Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture, and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection Archives.
Seventeenth-Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
17th- and 18th-century English newspapers and news pamphlets. Mostly from London, some from Ireland, Scotland, and English colonies.
The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers can also be searched using Gale Primary Sources and NewsVault.
Times (London) Digital Archive
Over 200 years of the world's "newspaper of record."
The Times (London) Digital Archive can also be searched using Gale Primary Sources.

National Newspaper & Periodical Databases

Accessible Archives
Primary source material from 18th & 19th century magazines and books, including eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of everyday life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records.
Collections provided by Andersen Library: African-American Newspapers (Parts 1-13); VA Gazette (Parts 1-5); Civil War Collection (Parts 1-6); Godey's Lady's Book (Parts 1-9); Frank Leslie's Weekly (Parts 1-14); Women's Suffrage Collection (Parts 1-3).
African American Newspapers
Search 270 historical newspapers published for African American communities between 1827-1998.
Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
African American Periodicals
Search 170+ periodicals written by and about African Americans. Published from 1825-1995, the publications include academic and political journals, magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
America's Historical Newspapers
Primary source newspapers published from 1728 to the late 1990s. Includes thousands of titles from all 50 states.

Access provided by UW Madison.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
The most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
You can search each series separately as well as together: Series 1 (1684-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1912).

Funding provided by the Russell Moratz Estate.
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text from 1849 to 24 years ago.
Some content withheld due to copyright.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and individual article images with searchable full text from 1851-5 years ago
Some content withheld due to copyright
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Full text pages and individual articles for hundreds of 19th-century U.S. historical newspapers.

Other Guides to Finding Historical Newspapers

Historical African American Newspapers Available Online - (James A. Cannavino Library, Marist College, New York)

According to this guide's content description, it "provides a list of historical African American newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content. The newspapers contained within the guide are those that have ceased to operate or are currently running papers with archives available. It does not include papers that are currently running and only offer access to the most recent articles."

Many of these digitization projects do not include the full run of the newspaper.

Wisconsin Newspaper Databases

Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers
Full-text access to weekly and daily newspapers in Wisconsin from 2005 to 90 days ago.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
NewspaperARCHIVE
Full page and individual articles from historic newspapers from Wisconsin.
Newspapers.com Library Edition - World Collection
Regional, local, and state newspapers from the 1700s-2000s. Includes 150 Wisconsin-specific titles including the Janesville Daily Gazette, the Racine Daily Herald, the Eau Claire Leader, and many more.
From the United States and other countries

Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
Royal Purple
Student run newspaper for the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater documenting campus milestones, social and cultural changes, and the general history of the institution and surrounding community.
Whitewater Digital Newspapers
Includes The Whitewater Register, Whitewater Gazette, and Whitewater Press. Years span 1850 to 1969.
Part of The Community History Archive of the Irving L. Young Memorial Library (the public library for the city of Whitewater, WI)

Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles
(Wisconsin Historical Society) This site contains images of 16,000 articles from Wisconsin local newspapers. Most articles were published between 1860 and 1940.