Estimating Media Rates
This is the "Industries" page of the "Sources of Business Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sources of Business Information  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015 URL: Print Guide

Industries Print Page

Industry Overviews

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries UWW access only
This series, similar to the Encyclopedia of American Industries described below, contains information on just under 150 fields that demonstrate a promising future in the years to come. While these tend to be technologically-driven industries, the volume also features arts & crafts stores, life coaching and other growing businesses.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
HC102 .E53, Reference Collection
This two-volume set covers over 450 industries, both the manufacturing and service sectors, and organized by SIC code. The profiles of each industry contain a snapshot of industry performance, organization, background, as well as leaders and further sources of research like trade associations and publications.

Encyclopedia of Global Industries
HD2324 .E53, Reference Collection
This series, similar to the Encyclopedia of American Industries above, describes 125 industries from a worldwide perspective. The twenty-three sections of the book provide information about the state of affairs for industries from agriculture to retail to transportation, highlighting the major countries involved in each.

Business Article Databases
Traditionally the business article databases have only contained published sources like newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. However, both ABI/Inform Complete and Business Source Complete now include industry and market reports that make research much easier.


Industry Statistics

IBISWorld UWW access only
Provides a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings and offers valuable insight into America's 700+ industries.

Passport GMID UWW access only
Passport Reference & Markets offers over 2,200 top-line market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Reports offer up to date market size data, company shares, brand shares and forecasts. It provides access to over three million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for over two hundred countries back from 1977.

Market Share Reporter UWW access only
Containing over three thousand charts and graphs, Market Share Reporter not only has the numbers, but also points you to additional sources of information like trade associations and industry magazines. Make sure to highlight the correct title in the "Select Directories" box.


Government Statistics

US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau has a number of statistical programs designed to analyze the health of the US economy and its participants.

  • The Economic Census, just like with the population census, surveys companies through the United States every five years (in years that end in 2 and 7) and produces industry profiles organized by NAICS code. The 2012 Economic Census is not yet available.
  • The Annual Survey of Manufactures, administered every year except in years that end in 2 and 7 (due to the Economic Census), contains nationwide statistics on industries with NAICS codes that begin with 31-33. If it's finances that you need, then take a look at the Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations.
  • The Annual & Quarterly Services is the equivalent to the survey of manufacturers for industries with NAICS codes that begin with 48-81.
  • County Business Patterns looks at county, metropolitan and zip code-level statistics for the number of businesses, the number of employees and payroll. Similarly, the County and City Data Book provides a more inclusive compilation about the geographic areas with both demographic and economic statistics. The print copy of the 2007 County and City Data Book can be found at the Reference Desk.

Other Government Sources

Producer Price Index
The Bureau of Labor Statistics compiles statistics on the cost of raw materials used in the manufacture of finished products. The agency releases the data monthly. Print editions of the index can be found in the Government Documents Collection (L 2.2:P 94/22/).

Statistics of Income Tax Stats - Corporation Tax Statistics
The Internal Revenue Service produces industry reports from the corporate tax filings, specifically the Form 1120. The data is also available in print format in the Government Documents Collection under the title, Statistics of Income (T 22.35/5:).

Business Statistics of the United States
Pulling from primarily government sources, this volume provides loads of numbers on the US economy, industrial production and income, as well as historical data for investigating trends. Print editions can be found in the Reference Collection (HC101 .A131222).


Industry Ratios

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
HF5681 .R25 I53, Reference Desk
Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios gives just what it says in the title, with a breakdown of financial line items, as well as solvency, efficiency and profitability ratios. The data is organized based on SIC code.

RMA Annual Statement Studies
HF5681 .B2 R6, Reference Desk
RMA analyzes bank statements of private companies in order to produce the Annual Statement Studies each year. Each industry, based on NAICS code, provides detailed statistics and performance indicators for companies by total assets and by total sales.

IBISWorld UWW access only
Provides a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings and offers valuable insight into America's 700+ industries. Each report includes average industry ratios.


Import & Export

Foreign Trade Statistics (US Census Bureau)

Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
US DOCS ITC 1.10/4:

Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb (US International Trade Commission)

International Trade Statistics Yearbook
HF91 .U473, Main Oversize Collection

National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (Office of the United States Trade Representative)
US DOCS PrEx 9.10:

U.S. International Trade Administration - includes U.S. import and export as well as state export data.


Need help?

Contact the Reference Desk!
Phone: 262-472-1032
E-mail: Ask a Librarian
24/7 Chat: Ask a Librarian

Reference Desk Hours* (Fall Breaj)







*UW-W librarians chat online Wednesdays 6pm-10pm

*Online chat is always available

Check here for schedule exceptions.



Many business reference sources such as company directories or industry analyses use the federal government's numerical codes (SIC or NAICS) to describe types of businesses. Use these sources to identify SIC or NAICS numbers for your industry.

NAICS Structure
SIC Structure
NAICS/SIC Correspondence Tables


Symbol legend

UWW access only = Access restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.


Loading  Loading...