Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Theatre 110: Introduction to Theatre: Find Articles

Find Theatre Articles

To find articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers (a.k.a. periodicals), use the Library's article databases. Each database is an online collection of similar materials. Some databases' have a theme, such as items related to the performing arts or literature. Other databases' collect only certain types of materials, such as the previously mentioned periodical articles. Choose database(s) to search based on your research needs.

If you don't know which database(s) to use, look on the UWW Libraries' Databases by Subject webpage and browse through the subject groupings for suggested databases in your topic area. This page is also available from the libraries' homepage by clicking on Articles/Databases.

The Library databases below are the best places to start your theatre research for this course. Ask the Theatre & Dance Librarian for other ideas if you are not finding what you want.

Theatre Databases

Other Useful Databases

America History & Life with Full Text
A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes over 2,000 English-language journals published worldwide.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Biography in Context (Gale)
Search Gale's reference content, periodicals, and multimedia to gain biographical context on the world's most influential people, living and dead.
Search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Biography Reference Bank
Contains thousands of biographies of authors, artists, film directors, Nobel Prize winners, American reformers, musicians, and composers.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
This resource includes the Main series, the Documentary Series, and the Yearbook Series. It can also be searched using Gale Literary Sources.
History Reference Center
Full text for more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias, books, and articles from nearly 170 history periodicals. Can also use their browseable interface here .
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
Literary Reference Center Plus
A comprehensive literary reference which offers information from over 1,000 books and monographs, literary encyclopedias, and hundreds of literary journals.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
WorldCat.org
Search the catalogs of more than 10,000 participating libraries worldwide. Find items in libraries close to you by entering your location.
Especially useful for finding editions of a play, recordings of a play, films of a play produced for the screen, and adaptations.

Find the Full Text From a Database

Most databases have some full text articles and/or chapters in addition to citations. To access the full text there will be a button or text to click on that says something like: PDF, HTML, or Full Text.

When an article is not available in that database, use button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. One of several things will happen when you click on it.

You will be taken to a "LibKey" screen with one or more Full Text Format Options on the right side. Select Article Link to go to a database that does have the full text.
You will be taken to Research@UWW. To see whether an article, chapter, book, video, etc. is available look in the:
1. View Online section to see if there is a link to the item in one of the libraries' subscription databases.
2. Get It section to see if there are other ways to access the full text of the article.

If you have a citation for something UWW does not have access to AND are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If:

UW-Whitewater has it, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it. UW-Whitewater does NOT have it, go to the library homepage, select My Accounts, and Logon to ILLiad, then fill out the request form.

In the Get It section you will see other ways to access the full text of the article. Either:

UW-Whitewater has the item physically in one of the UWW libraries. If at your campus, you will go to the listed collection to get it. If at the other campus, use the "Request" option to have it sent to your campus. Some people who fit this set of criteria can use ILLiad to have articles or book chapters scanned as a PDFs for you to access online. UW-Whitewater does NOT have the needed item in one of the UWW libraries. Select Please sign in for more request options --> Sign in. Select UW-W Students / Staff Login >, and then Log in. Complete the multifactor authentication through Duo. Click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) for articles and chapters or UW-Request for books, media, government and other items.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video